Search This Blog

Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Adobe warns of bogus Flash Player installers

By Jeremy Kirk, August 05, 2008

Hackers are trying to dupe people into downloading malicious software labeled as Adobe Systems' Flash Player, prompting a warning from the company. Adobe is advising users to ignore links on social-networking sites that lead to other Web sites purportedly hosting Flash Player, as those sites often have malicious software. "If the download is from an unfamiliar URL or an IP address, you should be suspicious," Adobe's advisory said. Labeling malware as legitimate software is an old social-engineering tactic. But given the wide use of Flash on Web sites, most people have installed Flash Player to display the content. Adobe has also updated Flash Player several times this year due to other security issues, so it may not come as a surprise to see an upgrade message, albeit a fake one. The current version is 9.0.124.0.

Read more here-->Link

No comments:

Cursethehype.com All rights Reserved 2002-2019